CANADIAN and AMERICAN accent, whats the difference?

Andrew J.   Tuesday, November 19, 2002, 05:03 GMT
I went to Detroit last summer (right on the border), and watched the news on CBC. And the Canucks do sound a bit different from us Americans. Almost kinda Scottish. They really do say "aboot", or "abewt" or something close, and they have that slight Scots-like vocal lilt. Did more Scots settle in Canada and possibly influence the English accent there? I, unlike a great many Americans, have read a bit about Canadian history, which is a lot like American history somewhat. It seems like Scottish-decended people dominated Canadian politics for many years; their first prime minister was named McKenzie (or was it McDonald? I didn't say I was an expert on Canadian history). In conclusion, I have nothing against Canadians. I've been there, and think it's a nice enough place. Victoria is much cleaner than most American cities I've been to, actually.
Carrie (in response to Andrew J.)   Tuesday, November 19, 2002, 06:34 GMT
I think the accent you heard might be only concentrated in that place or city. Accents actually differ from city to city, place to place in Canada but very slightly. I still haven't heard anyone in my life say "aboot" and I live in British Columbia, so it's probably different in Detroit then.

P.S. The first prime minister of Canada is Sir John Alexander McDonald. Peace.
Clark   Tuesday, November 19, 2002, 20:39 GMT
Andrew J., in response to your question about Scottish people settling in Canada. Yes, it was very prevalent. Mostly on the eastern side of Canada though. One of my friends from Canada was told by a doctor that she had a speech problem. When she went to a speech therapist, he told her that she just had a strong Scottish accent, as she lived in a Scottish community in Canada. Sorry for the story, but it just illistrates my oint that there are a lot of Scottish people, or their descendants, in Canada.
Jim   Wednesday, November 20, 2002, 00:17 GMT