Does understanding fast spoken English get any better with time?

Jan   Friday, October 22, 2004, 02:22 GMT
I'm a second-year foreign student at a U.S. college and although my English has improved a lot overall since I came here, the thing that still bothers me is I can hardly ever fully understand anything when Americans talk informally between themselves. The classic example are meals at the college dining halls: I'm sitting right there with a couple of Americans having a conversation and I just can't get to what they're saying. And btw--lectures, most movies, conversations one-on-one are just fine for me. It's just this really fast informal language that is a problem.

So, did anyone have similar experiences? Does it go away with time as you live in an English-speaking country? Did you ever get to the point you thought you were catching just as much as the natives?

Thanks,
Jan
Jim   Friday, October 22, 2004, 02:54 GMT
I have had similar experiences, yes, and as time goes by I've found things easier and easier to understand so don't give up hope, Jan.
Mxsmanic   Friday, October 22, 2004, 05:10 GMT
Understanding always becomes easier with time and practice.

Remember also that under less than ideal conditions, even native speakers may not understand much of what they hear.
JJ   Friday, October 22, 2004, 05:30 GMT
they wouldn't ever not understand it, just not hear it.
David Winters   Friday, October 22, 2004, 05:57 GMT
>> they wouldn't ever not understand it, just not hear it.

What is this gibberish?
JJ   Friday, October 22, 2004, 06:52 GMT
<<Remember also that under less than ideal conditions, even native speakers may not understand much of what they hear.>>

It is not true that they wouldn't be able to understand much of what they hear, the only reason they might not understand is if they didn'g hear it properly. Of course they would understand the actual words spoken.
Damian   Friday, October 22, 2004, 06:57 GMT