Japanese

Shin   Thursday, January 06, 2005, 02:32 GMT
about learning the language in general, i'm not sure.. but some people say it's better to just start learning basic grammar before learning any script. i'd definitely recommend getting a reasonably strong background in grammar and vocabulary before moving on to kanji, though.
sho   Thursday, January 06, 2005, 05:57 GMT
I made a mistake in my previous post:
"You may have trouble with the Japanese r if your first language is Japanese, but just think of a Spanish r. (not rr) " I meant to say "if your first language is English", not "Japanese".

Tiffany,
Thank for your compliment:) Yeah it's true that articles can be very difficult for some Japanese because we don't have them in our language. I did a lot of listening and reading, and as you input lots of English sentenses, you'll get the sense of any language... I believe.
Actually I'm not that good at writing, I think I'm better at speaking.

Sub-Sean,
Check this site where you can learn hiragana and its pronunciation.
http://sp.cis.iwate-u.ac.jp/sp/lesson/j/doc/hira.html
Someone   Thursday, January 06, 2005, 12:09 GMT
I've tried learning Japanese in the past, and I'm currently trying to again. The hardest thing about learning Japanese is the kanji, in my opinion. When I want to practice Spanish, there's a multitude of resources available to me that I can easily read. Reading Spanish helped me come way closer to fluency than I had been before I started. But with Japanese, I can't do that because most things are written in kanji, and I only know about 100 kanji. The other obstacle is, of course, the grammar. From what I've seen, Japanese grammar is very logical and simple (much simpler than Spanish). However, the way the words are ordered in Japanese froces me to think backwards, making it much more difficult to come up with sentences rapidly. When I'm speaking English or Spanish, I think up the sentence as I go along, but Japanese requires you to pre-plan setences.