Cambridge exams

garans   Sunday, February 20, 2005, 17:40 GMT
Do you think that Cambridge exams FCE, CAE, CPE are helpful a learner to get the better English?
Raj K   Wednesday, February 23, 2005, 17:30 GMT
Very helpful.I took my CPE in 1979 itself.
garans   Wednesday, February 23, 2005, 18:30 GMT
wow,

you are an expert.

They say that we need to have native-like abilities to get CPE.
I am not very good at listening - I can get about 70-80% of movies.

Is it enough to get C-level (lowest at CPE) ?
Tom   Wednesday, February 23, 2005, 22:33 GMT
Some of my friends have passed the CPE with Bs and Cs. Their skills are far from native-like.
Get some sample Proficiency tests. You'll see they're not so hard.
Jordi   Wednesday, February 23, 2005, 22:50 GMT
I imagine it all depends on the countries where you pass it. As you know exams are passed in different European cities and they come from England.

I passed a CPE (and additional translation papers from and into Spanish) in the 1980s in Spain. There were more than 50 of us who sat for the exam and only 4 of us passed. I just say this to explain how difficult it is at least over here. Most of those who sat for the exam had university English degrees and/or Official School of Languages diplomas.

The exam was quite prestigious 15 years ago and I don't know if it still is. Perhaps, other people living in Spain can tell us something (or in other European countries).
Miguel   Thursday, February 24, 2005, 15:32 GMT
I wanted to take the toefl exam about 2 years ago. I prepared it and it seemed quite easy. How difficult is it comparing to the ones you are taking about? thanks..
Italian77   Thursday, February 24, 2005, 15:42 GMT
To Miguel
The TOEFL exam corresponds, more or less, to the CAE examination (Certificate of Advanced English).
Miguel   Thursday, February 24, 2005, 16:10 GMT
so, which one do you think is better to take?
garans   Thursday, February 24, 2005, 17:18 GMT