Studying Latin but not understanding Romance Languages

Anezka   Tuesday, May 10, 2005, 10:51 GMT
Hello, I am a mezzo-soprano studying Latin required in music school in Prague.

My Latin teacher encouraged and motivated me to study Latin (Latin is compulsory) because I will be able to understand most romance languages !
I have been studying Classical Latin for 2 years and I can speak and sing it ! But I still don’t understand Italian for example or Spanish

I am very depressed speaking and singing in a dead language…

How come I don’t understand Italian or Spanish ? Are Italian and Spanish so different from Latin ?
Travis   Tuesday, May 10, 2005, 11:51 GMT
Well, for starters, Spanish and Italian have lost the case system of Latin, and many word-forms that are common in them are not word-forms which are common in classical Latin, but rather word-forms which replaced classical Latin terms in vulgar Latin, and hence why many words may not be familiar to you. Anyways, you would probably have to separately study any given Romance language itself to be able to understand such to any real extent; just knowing classical Latin will not enable such in itself.
greg   Tuesday, May 10, 2005, 14:55 GMT
On top of that, Romance languages took Old Germanic loanwords resulting in Fr <blanc>, Sp <blanco> and It <bianco> vs La <albus> = En <white> or in Fr <guerre>, Sp & It <guerra> vs La <bellum> = En <war>.

Plus phonological change that has had French or Portuguese differentiated from more 'conservative' languages (Spanish, Occitan) and of course from Latin.

Plus the use of prepositions to replace Latin case-inventory and declension-system.

Plus neology from 500 up to 2005...
Jordi   Tuesday, May 10, 2005, 15:14 GMT
Anezka:
Latin is still the official language of the Vatican state. You can, of course, practice it with willing nuns, monks, priests, nuns, bishops, archbishops and the pope of Rome himself.