An unusual issue - Trying NOT to use conventional grammar.

Call me CX   Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:43 am GMT
I can not seem to adhere to regional conventions of English language orthography. For example, I plan to live in Scotland one day, but I can not, for the life of me, type or speak Scottish English, despite knowing it thoroughly. I'm getting adept at speaking English with a Scottish accent, but that's not the same.

It's not a problem when I'm with my close friends, but it's an enormous obstacle when I'm with acquantainces, such as in an online conversation where there are many people I don't know. In other words, I don't exactly fit in. This can be attributed to the fact that I'm so attached to proper grammar, after all, I'm a writer as well as an aspiring researcher and linguist. However, my penchant for conventional English grammar, whilst certainly positive, is hindering the expansion of my social network in this particular country.

I want to be able to switch codes at will, depending on what the situation calls for. If I'm not communicating with this community, I'll obviously want to employ the conventional form of English, but otherwise I'll want to do away with my inhibitions and talk and type like a native, for the purpose of fulfilling my desire to fit in. I hereby present the following question, how could I get myself to do that?
Call me CX   Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:45 pm GMT
So, could anyone offer some help? XP
Johnny   Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:28 pm GMT
Are you saying you can't seem to be able to use informal English? Well, you could learn informal English the same way you learned to use the overcorrect variety you tend to use.

My friends and I were observing a peculiar creature... --> Me and my friends were watching a weird animal...