English spoken EVERYWHERE

El Cid   Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:17 am GMT
<< except that I consider France and Canada to be powerhouse countries >>

I agree with you about France, but not so sure about Canada as a powerhouse, but that's just my opinion. Plus, the presence of English in Canada doesn't exactly help French in this situation.

<< I have been a language teacher in secondary schools and college and have been curious about the status of the big three foreign languages in the U.S., i.e., French, German, and Spanish. Spanish has been growing in popularity in the U.S. for years, as everyone knows, but French has been declining while German has been growing in popularity in recent years. You can find this info at the Modern Language Association. >>

Where do you live again? Anyway, yes. In the US the order of popularity is Spanish, French and German. Spanish has most likely climbed at the expense of French over the years in the US, but I wasn't aware about German growing in popularity. I'll have to check that out.

I hope we don't in turn get attacked by aggressive pro-French people for talking about this. (Remember the fanatics here exist on both sides.)
Colette   Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:25 am GMT
Hi El Cid,

I live in New York City, in a predominantly Hispanic neighborhood (with some Chinese people down the block). Everyone gets along well here, but I admit that the Chinese people seem to keep to themselves a bit more. I live kind of on the border -- a few blocks away it is mostly white (European-American) and Arabic people. This place is really the melting pot, I tell you...