Changing my non-native American accent so tha it sounds Brit

Guest   Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:39 am GMT
Hey,

I've been learning English for quite a few years now and I've been working really hard on my pronunciation.
As a result, a teacher thought I had spent my high schools years in the US and another one asked me if I had ever lived in the US. A private tutor also thought I went to New York.
My American accent is Northern-sounding according to lots of people. I have the Northern Vowel Shift - especially the "ask" thing - and I don't have the caught-cot vowel merger. Mary, merry and merry and writer and rider sound the same to me. If someone could tell me where it would place me on a US map, it'd be great. I'd say Illinois/Chicago but I'm not too sure.

Whilst I have never visited the US and have actually only been to the UK for a weekend, I'm quite happy to see that my efforts have paid off, even though I still sound quite far from native.
However, I'd like to develop an English accent because I plan on studying in England and living there for a while. I've also fallen in love with British accents for some reason. It sounds more refined and softer I think, even though I love US accents.
My main problem is that whenever I try to pull of an English accent, it sounds American-Irish, but never English. The best I can do is actually over-the-top Irish haha.

I've been practicing pulling off a British accent for 2 months now, but I have an American assistant and thus, even though I try to keep up the good work, American intonation and stuff generally seeps through my English.

So here are my questions:
-How do you get rid of American intonation? I don't quite get how to do a British intonation so if someone could explain that to me it would be great.

-I know the main features of the American accent. However, I don't know the main features of the British accent.