Lot-cloth split.

Cheryl   Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:40 am GMT
Actually, i'm preparing a project of lot-cloth split but i'm just a beginner of phonetic. Lot-cloth split is so difficult for me...

The main problem is i come from hong kong and never been to Britain or America before. i really don't know how to distinguish different accents.

After i search lot-cloth split in the wiki and this forum, i still can't understand and think this's really complicated and difficult :(

what actually the lot-cloth split is? and are there any rules of lot-cloth split happen?

i only know it will happen before voiceless fricatives, and it will affect the words end in -og...?

sorry for asking this question, but really want somebody can help me:(
Matthew   Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:31 am GMT
The lot-cloth split is basically the exact opposite of the cot-caught merger, so you might want to study that as well.
Cheryl   Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:44 am GMT
umum...i haven't learn the cot-caught merger yet.

i'm finding in which situation, the word will pronounce at lot-vowel, and the word need to pronounce at the cloth-vowel.

maybe, if the words are end in -og, the word will become lot-vowel?
if the vowel is before voiceless fricative like s/f/θ, the word will becom cloth-vowel?
Matthew   Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:46 am GMT
<<maybe, if the words are end in -og, the word will become lot-vowel?>>

Not necessarily. In lot-cloth split, non cot-caught merged dialects, words such as 'log' are pronounced like 'cloth', and words like 'possible' are pronounced like 'lot'.

I don't believe there are any concrete rules concerning the lot-cloth split.
Trawicks   Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:28 pm GMT