My accent

Sebastian   Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:41 pm GMT
Hi

Can you please give me some feedback of my accent? I have been learning english for about 5 years now.

http://www.livemocha.com/tutor/English/review/5220317
Caspian   Sun Mar 08, 2009 4:21 pm GMT
Well, it's excellent. Why can Polish people always learn English so well??!!
Sebastian   Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:59 pm GMT
Thanks a lot for your opinion.

The truth is that I haven't learned any of my English in Poland. About 2 years ago I was sent by my parents to a bilingual school in Mexico, where the teachers would teach every school subject, except for Spanish, in English. Fortunately I had a few native English teachers and the rest of the Mexican ones had a very good accent. So I think I got my American English accent from them.

Then I moved to Poland and unfortunately, being a high school student myself, I can see how English is taught here.
Back then in Mexico, the teachers placed an enourmous importance on language fluency and pronunciation. We had grammar lessons too, but they weren't as important as "Oral English" classes where we used to speak American English the whole hour.
Here in Poland, English learning is mostly about the grammar and some new vocabulary. Communicative skills are left at the end of the line. Encouraging proper pronunciation and accent is non-existing.

That why me, in comparison to my peers, can't really speak or write with the most correct grammar at all times, but I have no problem at all with talking to and understanding what a native speaker of English would say to me. They do.
Xie   Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:03 am GMT
Very clear. But I can't tell, it seems while your vowels are elongated, students of my background (in Hong Kong, that is) tend to go to the reverse extreme of speaking choppy syllables. I think we foreigners often differ in INTONATION, much often than problems with phonemes... I suspect.
umm   Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:23 am GMT