"I'm done my homework"

Ben   Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:49 pm GMT
Also, in the first conversation, the question COULD mean 'Which places have you been to before?' - i.e. it isn't a number specific question, however, the in the second question it's obvious B1 is talking about a particular time.
Hope that helps

Ben.
Boy   Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:00 pm GMT
Ben,
Is there any difference you see between these sentences?

Just imagine, you are a prof in the class and i'm a student. For a while, I was outside of the class for buying my pencils. I'm about to enter in your class.

Prof. Ben: Where have you been, Boy?
Boy: I have been to a local shop for buying my pencils.

Prof. Ben: Where were you, Boy?

Boy: I was at a local shop for buying my pencils.

In above mentioned sentences, the activity has been performed during a day. The notion has clearly indicated in both sentences that the activity has been done recently. I'm not really sure how to identify if Prof.Ben was taking about a 'particular time' in the second sentence.

P.S: I have mixed up concepts of present Perfect and Past Tense under some cirumstances like the one above. So any feedback/clarification to above mentioned question will really help me to understand the difference between these tenses.
Ben   Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:03 pm GMT
Boy, in this context I think both of the sentences are absolutely fine, and get the point across perfectly clearly. A couple of little tweaks though:

1) I have been to a local shop to buy my pencils

2) I was at a local shop buying my pencils

Hope that helps.

Ben.
Boy   Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:14 pm GMT
Thanks for your help and also for correcting my mistakes. I must say, English is a crazy language for those who try to understand the intricacies of it.
Mark   Thu Jan 19, 2006 10:27 am GMT
If some one says "I'm done", I would say
"Hello Done, my name is Mark".

I do not think "I'm done" is gramatically correct either.

Surely, the correct phrase is "I have finished"