I find Chinese is more flexible than English

china1   Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:42 pm GMT
For example,
我是一个学生(I am a student),我是个学生(I am student)
我是一名学生(I am a student),我是名学生(I am student)
Here “一个”,“一名” that means “a”.
一本书(a book),一句话(a sentence), 一只猫(a cat)。

The similar Chinese quantifiers such as,
匹、张、座、回、场、尾、条、个、首、阙、阵、网、炮、顶、丘、棵、只、支、袭、辆、挑、担、颗、壳、窠、曲、墙、群、腔、砣、座、客、贯、扎、捆、刀、令、打、手、罗、坡、山、岭、江、溪、钟、队、单、双、对、出、口、头、跳、枝、件、贴、针、线、管、名、位、身、堂、课、本、页、丝、毫、厘、分、钱、两、斤、担、铢、石、钧、锱、忽、毫、厘、分、寸、尺、丈、里、寻、常、铺、程、撮、勺、合、升、斗、石、盘、碗、碟、叠、桶、笼、盆、盒、杯、钟、斛、锅、簋、篮、盘、桶、罐、瓶、壶、卮、盏、箩、箱、煲、啖、袋、钵、年、月、日、季、刻、时、周、天、秒、分、旬、纪、岁、世、更、夜、春、夏、秋、冬、代、伏、辈丸、泡、粒、颗、幢、堆

While English just has a,an,piece,group,pile,bunch,etc.,a little quantifiers. In most cases only uses a, an. So I think Chinese is more complicated than English.
shut up   Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:52 pm GMT
Does Chinese have verb tenses?
china1   Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:56 pm GMT
Does Chinese have verb tenses?
====================
No,all of the verbs don't change,which is easier than English.
reality   Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:58 pm GMT
No,all of the verbs don't change,which is easier than English

Imagine a romance language like Portuguese, a real nightmare for a chinese....
china1   Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:06 pm GMT
Imagine a romance language like Portuguese, a real nightmare for a chinese....

haha, maybe
.   Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:33 pm GMT
<<So I think Chinese is more complicated than English. >>

English is perhaps the simplest major language on the planet, when everything is taken into consideration
diablito   Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:44 pm GMT
English is perhaps the simplest major language on the planet, when everything is taken into consideration

This is really stupid! English isn't easy at all. It's just a cliché
snorton   Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:39 pm GMT
<<This is really stupid! English isn't easy at all. It's just a cliché >>