Bias Toward Multilinguals?

K. T.   Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:09 pm GMT
"When in Rome do as the Romans do". Of course I'm not saying I'll just behave and live like a Brazilian everywhere I go but I have my comfort zone and people will also like to respect that. For instance, since I'm christian I go to my son's daycare from time to time and tell the teacher I don't want my son to partake in certain Japanese "cultural" (or I should say "religious") activities such as children's day, tanabata, day of the dead, etc."

Interesting. Japanese seem to take to that expression readily. Maybe they don't want to be the nail that sticks out in any culture. Even though it is countercultural, I think having limits is wise.

Children's Day
I guess you mean the 3-5-7 day where they take kids to the shrine or temple (I forget which one; it's probably the shrine.) Do you participate in the kite/carp streamers flying in May?

Thanks for the links. I can always learn from other people. Since my profession is in another field, I appreciate the invitation to learn from others who already know a better way.

Have a great week!
K. T.   Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:15 am GMT
children's day=Kodomo no hi, right? It used to be the day for boys. Is it religious too?

Shichi-Go-San=7-5-3 Day is the religious (Shinto) day for kids. I can understand not participating in that.
Guest   Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:19 am GMT
<<For instance, since I'm christian I go to my son's daycare from time to time and tell the teacher I don't want my son to partake in certain Japanese "cultural" (or I should say "religious") activities such as children's day, tanabata, day of the dead, etc.>>

Because your imaginary friends are so much better.
K. T.   Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:45 am GMT
J. C.