Question about written AE

Daniel   Mon Sep 07, 2009 11:01 pm GMT
Is it easy to spot written American English if the writer uses British spelling?
I am studying in the US, but I fear that when I get back to Germany I may get poor grades because I now write in American English. Are there many differences that a German English teacher would notice? In school in Germany I was told that they are totally different.

BTW, I attempted to use only British spelling in this post.
americanprestige   Mon Sep 07, 2009 11:12 pm GMT
American English is more prestigious, especially if you are a technical student.
Guest   Mon Sep 07, 2009 11:41 pm GMT
Yes, it is quite easy. I see through your British spelling. It's obvious that you are using American English.
English   Tue Sep 08, 2009 4:51 am GMT
This is a joke, right? You attempted to use British spellings in your post? There are absolutely no differences between Standard American English and Standard British English in grammar or spelling in what you wrote. Nobody could possibly tell whether you were American, British, Australian or anything else. They just don't differ very much. It's possible to write paragraphs or even pages in English without giving the reader a clue as to where you are from.
Uriel   Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:46 am GMT
Daniel, it's very rare that you can tell a poster's nationality by what they write unless they use a lot of local slang. Standard English is virtually identical in all English-speaking countries. And there are only a handful of spelling differences -- none of which occurred in your post, as "English" pointed out.