What's the difference between TOEFL, IELTS and CPE exams?

Pete from Peru   Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:45 pm GMT
Well, there's the question.

Also, I've heard the CPE is a lifetime certification and TOEFL is only temporary. Also TOEFL is American English only while IELTS is for English in any English Speaking country. Please enlighten me on the subject. And tell me what you think about them.

I'd like to take one of these examinations next year. So I need to know what will be most convenient for me and your opinions will help me decide.

Thanks very much in advance.

Pedro
Edward Teach   Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:44 pm GMT
It depends on what your plans for the future are, Pedro.

If you plan to study in America, then TOEFL is the one for you, if you want to study in the UK, then go for IELTS.

I have no real experience of TOEFUL but I have taught some students in preparation for their IELTS exam and the material was extremely difficult.

On the plus side, your English is extremely good for a non-native speaker.
My boss knows a great deal more about this so I will have further info for you in a couple of days, I wont see him till then.

Best of luck to you in whichever you decide to do.
BUTTFUCKER   Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:21 pm GMT
I AM
Pete from Peru   Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:36 am GMT
Thanks a lot for the info Edward.

Well, it's not like I'm planning to study abroad or something. But a good mark in such certificate will be a real plus for my CV. It will really give me more opportunities and even the chance to actually choose the place where I'd like to work.

It's very difficult for most people here to get good marks when taking these sort of tests. Most people hope to get an acceptable qualification in a TOEFL test or maybe pass the FCE.