Languages evolving towards greater inflection

???   Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:47 pm GMT
I understand that languages can have the tendency to go from being highly inflected to analytical back to highly inflected and so forth. I'm curious to know how this actually happens in a language which is in the process of becoming more inflected. I mean you can easily understand how endings gradually get eroded away, but how do they get added?
Leasnam   Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:03 pm GMT
wow, good question.

I have no experience with knowledge regarding the gain-adding of inflections, but I can envision how this might occur...

if inflections begin as separate particles that get appended to words, would this qualify as a way to return to an inflected state?

to byspel:

if one said "He's homeward" meaning he's going home, this could eventually break down to "he/she/it is homer" where "-er" could be analogously applied to various words to indicate movement toward, or location.

otherwise, I don't know.

What are some forbuses when such occurence has taken place (non-inflect -> inflected)?
Baldewin   Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:06 pm GMT
Are there examples of languages that have become more inflected? Which?
Baldewin   Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:11 pm GMT
I meant, as Leasnam asked!
Paul   Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:09 pm GMT
In English, there's a tendency to add certain suffixes to words to change meaning. Although it's uniformly rejected as bad English, its gaining popularity, and if left unchecked they could possibly become a noun infections.

For example: The "wise" suffix.

-"So how are you doing money-wise?"

-"What are you preferences, relationship-wise?"

-"Where do you see yourself in the future, career-wise?"

If this keeps up, "wise" could become an ablative noun case of sorts, and we could drop the hyphens.
.   Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:27 pm GMT
<<If this keeps up, "wise" could become an ablative noun case of sorts, and we could drop the hyphens. >>