Since/For (Opinion for Native Speakers of BE mostly)

K.   Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:35 am GMT
I've been studying English since the age of five.
I've been studying English for twenty-five years.

These examples seem fine to me, but do native speakers of British English EVER say "I've been studying since twenty-five years,"?

This sounds awkward and incorrect to me as a speaker of American English.
Damian in Edinburgh   Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:28 pm GMT
Substitute "for" in place of "since" and you have the British English way on this one. The other just sounds too American in British ears so the vast majority of us never use it. It does sound "incorrect" to us but obviously not to them way out west across the watery Great Divide.
Wintereis   Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:32 pm GMT
Damian: I do wonder about you some times. It seems that you have no clue at all what the hell you are talking about.

K.: The use of "since" in "I've been studying since twenty-five years" is not something an American would say. Take anything Damian says with a grain of salt. More and more he seems to be incapable of giving an accurate answer to the simplest question. The use of since indicates a fixed historical mark. "I have been reading since I was four" or "I have been reading since I went to preschool" or "I have been reading since 1985" are correct uses of the word since in BE and GA. If you are indicateing a period of time rather than a fixed point when something occured or began, you use "for".

<<Substitute "for" in place of "since" and you have the British English way on this one. The other just sounds too American in British ears so the vast majority of us never use it. It does sound "incorrect" to us but obviously not to them way out west across the watery Great Divide.>>
Uriel   Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:37 pm GMT
Nobody says "I've been studying since twenty-five years", on either side of any ocean. At least, not in English!
K.   Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:53 pm GMT