Choosing between languages related to International Business

Chase   Sun Feb 14, 2010 8:48 am GMT
Hello forum members. I only have one request please do not flame me.

In the Fall I will be attending the University of Texas at Austin to study International Business. My major requires me to study a language for three years as well as to study abroad for a semester in a country where that language is spoken.

I will admit that I'm monolingual, but it's not because I'm disinterested in languages just that when I was a freshman and sophomore in a high school Spanish class I would always get called out as having a "gringo" accent. This was in a school where near native Spanish speakers would take Spanish as an elective just for an easy 100. Not all, but some did. Anyway, I guess this has always led me to be a little apprehensive about picking up a 2nd language.

Okay; back on topic. I've heard so many conflicting arguments about picking a language to study in the context of international business. For example, Latin America is a growing market so pick Spanish or Portuguese. French is the language of diplomats. German has one of the strongest GDP's. China is becoming a powerful economic market, etc.

I have also seen the counter arguments: Latin America has only shown minimal evidence of growth and the largest market, Brazilians, are striving to learn English. Most Germans speak English. Chinese are content with their sphere of influence, etc.

Now, I kind of find these arguments feeble. What I would like to know is what would be the most useful language for an International Business major (NOT the easiest) to learn in respect to the economic forecast and quality of living in those countries where the language is spoken?

Thank you for your assistance in advance,
Chase
a demotivator   Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:27 am GMT
<<I only have one request please do not flame me. >>

Request denied.