Confirmed: French is in free fall

Visitor   Tue May 18, 2010 7:23 pm GMT
Hi, I would like to confirm that French language is in free fall.

One of the most important websites tell us that French is ONLY 8th in Internet. It was 6th one year ago. The trend is very bad and it will be probably worse next year.

http://www.internetworldstats.com/stats7.htm

English, Chinese and Spanish are the most used languages on the web and the most spoken languages Worldwide.
fraz   Tue May 18, 2010 8:12 pm GMT
I spoke to a young woman from Vietnam the other day and she said virtually nobody learns French in that country anymore. It is all English. Only the older generation can speak French.
Franco   Tue May 18, 2010 8:17 pm GMT
Yeah, it is like in Europe. My grand-parents studied French at school. Meanwhile my parents and I studied English, the most useful language nowadays.

When my grand-pa generation dead nobody will speak French in Europe as second language.
Hmph   Tue May 18, 2010 9:11 pm GMT
You people are just jealous that French is such a romantic, majestic, and refined language with a deep history and great culture. French will hopefully not die out. And this is coming from an American, too, by the way.
another American   Tue May 18, 2010 9:17 pm GMT
You gave the answer ,Hmph, to all this: French had a great PAST but it lacks a brillian future. If the French speakers feel more self-confident recreating on their glorious past then good for them.
Dutch   Tue May 18, 2010 9:25 pm GMT
While you all compair global language, English laughs at all of you. Spanish and Chinese will never be important on a global level. Only Spanish one needs to know is commands to order around servants and maids. Chinese will only be needed when filing a lawsuit against their lead filled crap they export, but even then they wouldn't care. So logically we only need to learn a few Spanish phrases and ignore Chinese.
American Chinese   Tue May 18, 2010 9:36 pm GMT
Not really, Dutch