Canadian Accent Studies

David Rogers   Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:01 pm GMT
Hi all,

I was reading the "Is there a difference between American and Canadian Accents" thread from 2002, very interesting stuff!

I think the thread is also evidence of the link between accent and culture and thus all of the strong feeling that surfaced in theat thread.

By day I am a project manager for an Insurance Company (boring) but in my spare time, I am a part time linguist, I love learning about language, accent and all things related. As well as English, I am partially fluent in Spanish.

At present, I am studying Canadian accent form and placement. Canadian has to be one of the most aesthetic and historically laced English speaking nations in the world in terms of accent.

Before I go on, I just want to say one thing. One can try to apply science to accent and intonation and one CAN get so far. However, in the main, the study of accent is subjective.

I say this because think about the following statement from an Ontarian Canadian "I have never heard the 'aboot' pronounciation in my life. They must just say it in Eastern Canada".

I don't mean to provoke but a person from a certain area is not necessarily the best placed to comment on a particular phenomenon of accent that is observed in that area.

We all intrinsically think that our accent is comprehensible and our way of talking "normal".

I am from the North East of England - an area where pretty much all in the UK agree a STRONG regional accent is present. People from this area (cities including Newcastle, Sunderland and Middlesborough) talk with an accent that is thought to be heavily influenced by Scottish (the England/Scotland border is only 70 miles from my home), and Norwegian (Strong maritime ties between South West Norway and North East England exist and Norway is closer to Newcastle than France is).