Uptalking / Like / American dialects

Mitch   Thu Jul 21, 2005 2:19 pm GMT
I've seen previous threads that discussed the use of uptalking (declarative sentences sounding like questions) and the endless use of "like" as both a filler and to introduce a quote. The consensus seemed to be that this was a "Valley Girl" (San Fernando Valley, Southern California) phenomenon.

Well, I lived in the Valley, and now live in Eastern Pennsylvania. My children, native Californians, do not speak like that, but almost every one of their classmates does. EVERY sentence (with the possible exception of the last in a series) seems to end with a question mark. Every quote uses a version of "be like." And I've seen this in progressively older speakers--native Easterners in their 20s and 30s uptalking--even during business meetings! And I've heard interviews with young people from the deep South, Manhattan, and Texas sound almost exactly the same--including immigrant children (eg., "And I started studying piano when I was five? And my teacher was like, "You've got talent?" And I'm like...”

I'd like anyone's input on the following:

American accents are leveling out, in the direction of "Valley Girl" patterns and accent, at least in suburbia. Whether we like it or not, this may eventually become the unofficial standard.

Does uptalking occur in other languages? And are there equivalents for the filler "like"?
Travis   Thu Jul 21, 2005 3:28 pm GMT
Well, depends. At least here in Wisconsin, I haven't *ever* heard high raising terminals at all, even though I do hear the use of "like" as a filler and in constructions like "<so and so> was like ...". There doesn't seem to be any indication that such would actually become an unofficial standard at all, unlike some things, such as "new" modal forms, which seem to be pretty well close to ubiquitous in North American English today.
Bubbler   Thu Jul 21, 2005 4:42 pm GMT