Indonesian--easiest language to learn?

KC   Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:36 pm GMT
I am an accredited translator/interpreter (Indonesian>English) and have to agree with Dr Kelly that there is a lot of misguided information about Indonesian. As some have pointed out the afix system is particularly difficult to master, as are the various registers of the language, eg standard, colloquial and 'prokem'. Indonesia is unfortunately full of expats who think they are 'fluent' in 'Bahasa' but in reality not many of them get beyond a reasonable pre-intermediate level. The same goes for more than a few Australian teachers of Indonesian. Pronunciation is not as straight forward as many have been led to believe either, for example 'ng' in intial position-try to get the average learner to pronounce 'ngengat' (moth) correctly and see how far you get! Learning any language to an advanced level, at least as an adult, requires years of study and if possible significant in-country experience.

James Sneddon's book 'The Indonesian Language-Its History and Role in Modern Society' is well worth reading as a follow up to this discussion.
Aga   Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:07 pm GMT
I'm the Indonesian native speaker also. Moreover I can speak Sunda a bit and can 100% understand if one speaks it.
punk ass   Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:57 am GMT
well indonesian is a useless language if you ask most people of more modern or industrialized nations. perhaps if you want to be the manager of a ten thousand strong factory producing nothing but slippers made from native grass then indeed indonesian may benefit you, just how greatly, well look at the current exchange of the currency and you might just lift your nose in utter disgust, but then thats just my two cents.
El   Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:11 am GMT
Why is it called Indonesia? how is the name in your language?
Malisa   Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:51 pm GMT