Ango-Saxons

Jim C, York   Fri May 12, 2006 7:28 pm GMT
I'm a really pro-European, and very much leftwing (I was getting really pissed off with the Blairite new Chairwoman of the Labour party last night, watching question time) But I feel the need for some sort of national identity, which would in my opinion give a new facet to our tourism industry. I think alot of Englishmen and Women feel the same, a need to conect with you past, whether it be a family, or cultural thing seems to be inbuilt into every humanbeing. The problem is that, far right groups have hijacked every cultural anchor the English have. The only thing left is The Queen really, but that is a British institution really. With the world cup coming soon, I see St.George's cross every where, but it still makes me feel uneasy, probably the reason you hardly see them at any other time. I think a rediscovery of English culture could be a very inclusive thing aswell, something to share proudly with the other cultures we have in this country.

If there was some sort of inclusive, official process to aid this from the government, I think you would find most English people, no matter what their background would embrace it, with the added benefit of taking these cultural anchors away from the right. Or has it just gone too far? have the far right bastards ruined it for every one? Regional identity seems to be untouched by this kind of thing, is that the best way to go? But how can that possibly be financialy viable?
Benjamin   Fri May 12, 2006 8:53 pm GMT
« But you'll have a blast in Germany in the summer, I'm sure. I like it a lot here...though I am intending to return to the UK sometime. Just not quite yet. :) »