Closest Accent to General American

bored guy   Tue Jun 27, 2006 2:17 am GMT
Kirk,

Just for my curiousity, what do you do for a living? or you don't have a job??
I took a look to the link you posted above and tried to read some of your posts and I notice that they are soooo long.
I don't want to be rude, but some of them are very boring.Do you really have so much free time? Even if you copy and paste, Is till believe it takes some time to do it.
Kirk   Tue Jun 27, 2006 3:12 am GMT
<<Just for my curiousity, what do you do for a living? or you don't have a job?? >>

I'm a college student--or actually, I was until I graduated a week ago. While I was in school (up till a week ago) I had three parttime jobs on-campus in addition to a full load of classes. Now I'm in the process of applying to full-time positions.

<<I took a look to the link you posted above and tried to read some of your posts and I notice that they are soooo long. >>

Nah, only a few of 'em are that long. That one I linked is long because I needed to cover a lot of things. That particular post was not done all in one sitting but something I wrote little bits of when I had free time.

<<I don't want to be rude, but some of them are very boring.>>

Sorry, some of the things we linguistics-oriented people love to ramble on about can indeed be quite boring to other people. That's ok--we're not offended. Just ignore what you don't find interesting.

<<Even if you copy and paste, Is till believe it takes some time to do it.>>

Haha! Since when did copy and paste take much time? What's it, like 4 seconds to copy and paste something?
bored guy   Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:58 pm GMT
Haha! Since when did copy and paste take much time? What's it, like 4 seconds to copy and paste something>>>
Kirk,

If your post is 2 page long, paste and copy would take long time :), that is what I was refering to.
And again for my curiousity, how is the job market in your area or the US in linguistics, beside teaching ?