I wish I was/were?

M56   Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:15 am GMT
<but when you answer a question you don't really know the answer, this will can confuse them more than they were to begin with. >

Your use of "will can" might also confuse them.

<but when you answer a question you don't really know the answer to, this will/can confuse them more than they were to begin with. >
Tiffany   Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:19 am GMT
Very true, but that was a typo (thank you for correcting it). However, unlike Robin, I am not answering a question with made-up facts. The difference is in deliberate vs. indeliberate. I did not intentionally mislead anyone. I'm sure Robin did not really mean to either, but this is what the end result would be if the learner believed her.

This is why I am asking her to refrain from answering questions she does not really know the answer to, or at the very least tone down her answers to "Well, I'm no expert, but I think..." instead of stating things as though they are facts.

On my part, I will try to make no more typos, but I am much less adept compared to others at typing. Truthfully, I try to reread my messages before I post, but that typo you pointed out is one I might have never caught. My eye just scanned over those words, because I know I reread that post, yet failed to catch it. I also found that I had spelled "proceeded" as "proceeeded".
Robin   Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:32 am GMT
<<<<<''I'm not a cookie making type of girl. I wish I was.''>>>>
<<<<<''I'm not a cookie making type of girl. I wish I were.''>>>>

I'm not a cookie making type of girl. I wish I was - a cookie making type of girl.

I'm not a cookie making type of girl. I wish I were - a cookie making type of girl.

Does the difference between these two sentences matter?

Are both these sentences acceptable?

The first sentence 'sounds' more like normal speech. The second sentence 'sounds' like more formal written speech.