English and Gender(s)

Sander   Wed Sep 14, 2005 12:23 pm GMT
A while ago, Adamn claimed that English had 3 Genders.Is this true,partially true or false?
Real Deal   Wed Sep 14, 2005 12:30 pm GMT
off topic hey Sander does ur nick have to do anything with the SAND word? Alike work - worker?
Sander   Wed Sep 14, 2005 1:03 pm GMT
What? LOL No, it's my name.
Sander   Wed Sep 14, 2005 4:24 pm GMT
Yeh but when I say 'TEACHER' you have no idea what gender she or he is. Right?
Candy   Wed Sep 14, 2005 4:27 pm GMT
Damn right you can't tell the gender, which suits me fine. I don't like it that in German I have to be a 'Lehrerin'. Why is it important to call me a female teacher? I'm just a teacher!
Sander   Wed Sep 14, 2005 4:38 pm GMT
I guess it's nice not to have to think of that I guess :-) point is , English doesn't use it.The fact that English uses personal pronouns like 'he and she' doesn't really mean they know a gender let alon think about it.
Candy   Wed Sep 14, 2005 4:45 pm GMT
I really like the fact that in English you can say 'my partner' without having to say if it's a man or woman. OK, usually it becomes obvious from the personal pronouns you use, but it gives people a chance to be more private about their private life if they want to.
Real Deal   Wed Sep 14, 2005 5:33 pm GMT
I thought if you dont care for the proper pronunciation I could not try that hard
Candy   Wed Sep 14, 2005 5:38 pm GMT
I don't care about Russian pronunciation.
I care very much about proper ENGLISH pronunciation.
Uriel   Wed Sep 14, 2005 6:48 pm GMT
Using he/she/it for things that really ARE hes, shes, and its is not the same as grammatical gender in other languages --- I don't care how much people argue that it is. When I took Spanish and (briefly) French, that was the most alien idea in the world, that inanimate objects had to be arbitrarily male or female.
Candy   Wed Sep 14, 2005 6:57 pm GMT