Galician and Portuguese

O Briga Do   Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:04 am GMT
"I'm a journalist working on a story (for a UK newspaper) on Cascais as 'The New Rio.'"

Cascais population: 33 255
Rio de Janeiro population: 6 094 183

"Also, why did so many Brazilians pick Cascais...?"

A better question, why so many British choose Cascais?
Rui   Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:21 am GMT
Journalist :

Though I can't tell you much about Cascais, I can testify that brazillians are spread all over Portugal, and not only in cities. I hadn't realised that until I came to work in a small village in hinterland Portugal : even here, and in neighbouring localities as well, there's a discrete but well integrated brazillian comunity. They're everywhere in Portugal ! And they're welcome, as far I am concerned.

It was released recently a portuguese documentary about immigrants in Lisbon (brazillians, angolans, ukrainians etc.) that perhaps could interest you. It's called "Lisboetas", and the director (brazillian born, living in Portugal) is Sérgio Tréffaut.
Leyla   Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:03 pm GMT
''It seems that there are a few people here who either live in Cascais or know it well and I wondered if any of you could give me some pointers. I'm a journalist working on a story (for a UK newspaper) on Cascais as 'The New Rio.' ''

Yes, people from Cascais even use brazilian informal pronoun VOCÊ (=you) instead of portuguese pronoun TU (=thou). It is very trendy, so even close friends use VOCÊ and not TU when they communicate. And Portuguese people from Cascais use Brazilian words instead of Portuguese ones (garota, moça instead of rapariga, marrom instead of castanho and so on)
Rui   Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:42 pm GMT