Which accent is really more popular in the world?

Ian   Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:46 pm GMT
"Between British accent and American accent, which one do you think sounds more pleasing? Which one is more popular the world over?"

To answer the original question:
Both in British Isles and in America there are accents that are pleasant, and some that are not.

I can't say of the whole world, but what I've observed:

In Indonesia: American is the cooler version of English. It is also omnipresent through the media.

In Germany: British English is just as popular as American. At school British English is still taught more.
Oscar   Fri Nov 09, 2007 5:59 pm GMT
I'm not a native speaker. I speak with an American accent, probably because I've seen too many Hollywood movies. But I must admit I'd love to speak with a British accent. I once had a conversation with an Englishman and when he asked me what I studied, I replied "aeronaudddical engineering"-- "I'm sorry?", he said.
Lo   Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:20 pm GMT
<<Midwesterners, and Northeasterners, themselves, refer to Northeasterners as Yankees>>
I'm Northeasterner and I refer to people from New England as Yankees.
Damian in Perth   Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:42 pm GMT
***I once had a conversation with an Englishman and when he asked me what I studied, I replied "aeronaudddical engineering"-- "I'm sorry?", he said***

If that Englishman had any sense of discretion he would have said: "Huh? Whaddya mean?" :-) Only joking!........ I'm only glad that he didn't say: "I beg your pardon?" What he actually said, though, is the most usual form when you don't quite understand what someone has said. The term "I beg your pardon" is now almost always used to express indignation or anger.
Afai   Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:43 am GMT