Students at a disadvantage

M56   Wed Jul 04, 2007 9:52 am GMT
Louw says:

"a text receiver needs to utilise the knowledge of semantic prosody to percieve irony in the message or to judge the degree of sincerity of its proponent. Access to information on prosody from the corpus is paticulary important for nonnative speakers, since they are more liable to miss such irony and be more vulnerable to the hidden intentions of the producer than native speakers, who probably have some sensitivity to it at some subconscious level."

How can we help our students become more aware of the semantic prosody of English words and expressions? What practical steps can we take to prevent our students becoming disadvantaged in such areas of usage?
Guest   Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:44 pm GMT
I am a student. Teacher first tell me what is "prosody" so that I can't be at a disadvantage.
furrykef   Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:59 pm GMT
"Prosody" and "semantic prosody" are actually two ideas that are only loosely related. "Prosody" is the intonation you use when you speak. For example, in most dialects of English, a question usually has a rising intonation at the end of the sentence, and a declarative sentence usually has a falling intonation. It also has to do with which words you stress when you speak. In every (or almost every) language with distinctive stress, the important words like the subject, verb, and object are stressed, while the less important words like articles and prepositions are unstressed. In short, prosody is extra information carried by how the sentence is spoken rather than the words themselves.