used to/would equal treatment in class?

Pos   Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:16 pm GMT
As a teacher of English, would you give equal importance to both "used to" and "would", when those words are used for referring to past habits?
furrykef   Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:34 pm GMT
Hmm. I might prefer to teach "used to" first, because it's less ambiguous: "used to" can only refer to the past, whereas "would" has other uses that are more common. To be certain that "would" is being used for past habitual actions, you often need to look at a subordinate clause and see that the verb is in the past tense. It all depends on whether or not I'd think my students can handle that. Since I'm not a teacher, I have no experience in that area.

- Kef
Pos   Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:40 pm GMT
My problem is, I've just been informed that "would" is 3 times as frequent as "used to" when used for past habits. So, I'm wondering why my past teachers never gave "would" for past habits such importance.
Guest   Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:43 pm GMT
<So, I'm wondering why my past teachers never gave "would" for past habits such importance. >

It was not hard to teach the usage of "used to" because of its grammatical construction not being used for other purposes unlike "would" so it was easier for students to grasp its usage. Got it?, M56!
Skippy   Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:17 am GMT
I would pretty much always use "used to" and reserve "would" for hypothetical situations.
Pos   Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:56 am GMT
<It was not hard to teach the usage of "used to" because of its grammatical construction not being used for other purposes unlike "would" so it was easier for students to grasp its usage. >

So when would you begin teaching "would" and would it be given as much importance as "used to"? Would you explain that "would" is used three times more than "used to" for past habit?

POS
Pos   Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:58 am GMT
<I would pretty much always use "used to" and reserve "would" for hypothetical situations. >