The Grand Pre-Outputlian Input Hypothesis

Guest   Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:24 pm GMT
<You speak English fine and naturally. I detect no errors in your writing.>

I never stopped writing even I was a zero beginner (someone who only knows greetings). During my whole learning process I never stopped writing. I kept writing emails and compositions all the time (perfect or not). On the other hand, I kept reading and listening stuff that held my fancy all the time. Infact, writing helps me a lot to fix my newly-acquired vocabulary and I have some extra time in my hands to go over each sentence if I want to. I read, listen, watch, write but I don't speak that well because I was disillusioned into thinking that speaking skills will emerge from nowhere as long as I could accumulate lots of comprehensible input. So I did not bother to practice. I did not open my mouth. Now I am forced to repeat myself by Americans during conversations. I want to communicate in the language effortlessly, that's the ultimate goal of every learner but you know, I screw it up, I am not good at speaking. My passion for language is flagging and nowadays I am thinking along these lines: "What's the use of learning a language when you can not speak with nativespeakers in real life?" What's the use of wasting a lot of time into learning a language for nothin' when the net result is zero?

Here is my massive input that I have gone through over 5 years period.

1. All seasons of "Friends". I watched them with subtitles.
2. All seasons of "Prison Break".
3. Two seasons of "Sex and City". I watched them twice.
4. Four seasons of "Seinfield". I watched them with subtitles.
5. 150 Hollywood movies.
6. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes series. I watched them with subtitles. 11 hours long, can be bought at Amazon, produced by Grenada.
7. Casual listening of Discovery Channel, BBC, CNN and Reality TV.
8. I was a big fan of Jerry Springer. I watched most of his shows on a regular basis. Probably around 25.