Learning a 3rd language in your 2nd language.

Rodrigo   Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:20 am GMT
Do you think it is easier to learn languages by first learning vocabulary in your native language, or it depends on wht the languages are and how similar they are? For example, I live in Colombia and I've been stdying English for about ten years, and French for the last two. I have a friend in the same situation but she went to Canada and there she is learning French in an English environment. I think that when the students are fluid in the language being learnt this has less importance but if you learn French vocabulary with English translations does it affect how you learn? (being a Spanish native speaker). Personally I think it depends on the level of fluency you have in your 2nd language but I'm ignorant about this issue. Any thoughts?
Gabriel   Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:22 am GMT
Interesting that you bring this up only a few weeks after I decided to begin learning French in an English-speaking environment. I'm teaching myself (I hope I don't have a fool for a teacher) and most of the materials I'm using are intended for native speakers of English. I'm having great fun, I hope I'll soon be able to post here in rudimentary French.
Xie   Wed Nov 07, 2007 8:56 am GMT
English has hardly any cognates with Chinese, but I learnt that, like others, for 10+ years or more.

When I tackle German now, cognates don't really help a lot; rather, structural similarities are more helpful.

Definitely, English has helped me a lot, but largely because it is almost impossible to learn a third language without using English at all (to a lesser extent for Japanese). Some very basic books, like phonetics and, above all, methodology books that "teach" how to learn this and that, are virtually non-existent in Chinese.

In the course of acquisition, I resort to using my own English translations much more than Chinese.
Yop pour toujours   Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:57 pm GMT