german verbs anrufen and telefoniern

curious g   Fri Nov 09, 2007 2:30 am GMT
First let start by saying that I am new to German...so anyone who answers this please keep that in mind.

I am using the Living Language Ultimate German Beginner-Intermediate course to get a basic introduction for German.

Lasting, I., & Singer H. (2000). Ultimate German: Beginner-Intermediate. New York: Living Language, A Random House Company.

In chapter three (page 31) they give the vocabulary list for the chapter. The problem is that they give the same definition for the verbs "anrufen" and "telefonieren." The definition they give is "to call, to telephone."

I remember a conversation I had with a lady from Berlin a few days ago, and she said that these words don't really have the same meaning because you use them at different times? And she wasn't sure, but she thought that some dialects may use them differently?

What is the difference between these two verbs? And is it true that this usage is different in the different dialects?
Bubbanator   Fri Nov 09, 2007 2:54 am GMT
For me, an American who speaks Bavarian dialect and Standard German, I would say that "telefonieren" better translates in English as "use the telephone; place a call" and "anrufen" is the way we would say "to call someone" or "to make a call to someone". Ich rufe sie an = I call her (up). Ruf mich an! = "call me!". It's a subtle difference, but there is a distinction. I can think of few cases where "anrufen" couldn't be employed and be clearly understood, but "telefonieren" wouldn't work for a lot of standard situations, so if in doubt, especially as a learner, I'd recommend leaning heavily on "anrufen" until you get your sea legs under you and start to have some intuition for it.

Hope that helps. Glueck auf!
Ian   Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:57 am GMT
I use "telefonieren" to explain the act of conversing over the phone, whereas "anrufen" is simply "to call".

For example:

"Wir haben gestern über eine Stunde telefoniert."