What does this chunk of language from a contract really say?

NIK   Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:22 am GMT
The Agent shall maintain for the sale of air cargo transportation office(s) as specified on Annex B attached hereto and all places where it makes air cargo ready for carriage the premises, staff and equipment required by the Carrier.
===============================================
The above piece of language is from a contract in airline business. Its grammatical structure and semantic meaning really confuses me. Hoping some native speaker can offer your generous help. Thanks!~
Guest   Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:13 pm GMT
I'm not a lawyer, but I'd guess it states:

The Agent shall maintain -- for the sale of air cargo transportation:

1) office(s) -- as specified on Annex B attached hereto

-and-

2) premises, staff[,] and equipment -- [at] all places where it makes air cargo ready for carriage -- [as] required by the carrier.
NIK   Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:21 pm GMT
mjd ,thanks for your reply. Well, the thread had been here for quite a while without any reply.
As for your explanation, I must say it is still not wholly clear to me. What about the "premises" part? Should "staff and equipment required by the Carrier" be understood as " handled by staff or equipment"?
It does not quite make sense.
NIK   Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:29 pm GMT
Guest, your explanation makes better sense.
But concerning this part
"all places where it makes air cargo ready for carriage the premises, staff and equipment required by the Carrier"
I find the logic between "all places where it makes air cargo ready for carriage" and "the premises, staff and equipment required by the Carrier" rather confusing. Isn't any grammatical mistake here according to the interpretation you came up with?
Guest   Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:14 pm GMT
<<Isn't any grammatical mistake here according to the interpretation you came up with? >>