understanding spoken speech

Guest   Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:21 pm GMT
I have been studying Spanish for several years now. I have a good handle on grammar and vocabulary and I am now trying to improve my listening skills. When I watch Spanish movies though, I can only understand about 15% of what they are saying. Strangely enough, if I already know what the person is saying, then I can suddenly understand virtually everything to a T. For instance, I'm quite familiar with the dialogue in the movie "Titanic" and one day, out of boredom, to put the movie on with Spanish dubbing and I could suddenly understand every individual word because I had already heard the dialogue in English. Is this a good way to help me improve me listening skills? What about watching the films in Spanish with Spanish subtitles, which also really helps.
Guest   Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:50 pm GMT
<<What about watching the films in Spanish with Spanish subtitles, which also really helps. >>

I find it strange that you ask for help when you already know the answer...

What gives? What is the REAL motivation for your Spanish-pluggin'-thread HUH?
Guest   Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:52 pm GMT
Yeah, watch Spanish movies with Spanis subtitles. I recommend you Amodovar's movies. I love them.
mac   Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:45 am GMT
Sometimes I watch my favorites in Spanish dub and subtitles. I know, listening is the hardest thing for me too, so I just try to speak with friends in Spanish whenever I can as well.
Guest   Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:51 am GMT
Why don't you understand spoken Spanish? It is clear and much easier than English.
Guest   Fri Dec 21, 2007 2:18 am GMT
<<Why don't you understand spoken Spanish? It is clear and much easier than English.>>
Let me guess. Your native language is Spanish. *rolls eyes*