How I'm learning German

Tom   Monday, April 22, 2002, 21:24 GMT
I started learning German, partially as an experiment (I want to put myself in the place of beginners), and partially because I have to pass an exam in basic German at the university.

Here is what I do:

- I read simplified books.
- I read messages written by Ole -- a German friend of mine.
- I repeat sentences with SuperMemo.
- I add sentences to SuperMemo (mostly these are sentences I get from Ole). I have about 600 items.
- I listen to fairy tales on CD.
- I sometimes write a few sentences to Ole or to Michal. I write very little and very carefully. I avoid mistakes at all cost.
- I use German-German dictionaries. (However, I often prefer to rely on my context-based understanding than to consult a dictionary. I used dictionaries more often when learning English.)
- I occasionally watch Deutsche Welle TV.
- I sometimes talk about German with Michal. (to learn stuff and to get motivated)
- I talk about German with my other friends (even if they're not particularly interested). (-> motivation)
- I spend money on German learning materials. I buy simplified books, dictionaries, etc. (-> motivation)
- I think about German. When walking somewhere, I sometimes wonder how to say something in German. Sometimes ready-made German sentences or phrases come to my mind reflexively.

About simplified books and recordings:
When I started learning English seriously, I was good enough to start reading regular books for native speakers. I don't feel I can read normal books in German right now. Or rather, I could if I had no other choice (after all, Michal started learning Norwegian by reading a mail-order catalogue). But since I have access to simplified books that are fun to read, I'd rather use these.
The same goes for simplified recordings. I prefer to get N+1 input rather than N+20 input (where N is my current level). That way I can learn faster. I'm telling you, I am sometimes amazed at my own rate of learning.