About English-Englihs dictionary

Irina Derevyanko   Thursday, August 22, 2002, 13:58 GMT
Hello! My name is Irina. I am from Russia. I have been learning English for five years. I read about your methodic and I want to talk about some moments. First about using English-English dictionary. I think this idea is good but only for those who already knows English. What can people that begin learning English do? If they look up a word in dictionary they will find a lot of unfamiliar English words. They will look up these words and find another unknown words and so on. It is like to listen to the alphabet Morse and try to understand it. I think it is useful to use this dictionary when learner already has some stock of English words. But how can he get it without using the English-Native Language dictionary. You had a lexical stock too before you started learning English with your technique. Besides it seems that such way of learning English needs a lot of time and is not suitable for those people who need to learn English very quickly. I'd like to discuss these points with you.
Tom   Friday, August 23, 2002, 10:00 GMT
Yes, you are right. If you are a complete beginner, then it is best to use an English-Native Language dictionary for some time and then switch to an English-English dictionary.

Why do you think using an English-English dictionary takes more time than using an English-Native Language dictionary?
Craig   Friday, August 23, 2002, 11:13 GMT