Difference between "for" and "since"

BABA   Wednesday, June 18, 2003, 19:23 GMT
Hi,

We often make mistakes about these words: "for" and "since". What is the difference between "for" and "since"?

For example: I have been playing tennis since I was 7 years old.
She had been waiting for 20 minutes when paul arrived.

What do you think?

Nice to read your comments.
hp20   Wednesday, June 18, 2003, 21:25 GMT
i don't know if i'll explain this well, but here goes.

"since" is used in reference to the beginning of a time period.
"for" is used to describe the length of time.

for example, it's 2:30 in the afternoon and you've been waiting for the bus. the bus was supposed to arrive at 2 o'clock. if you wanted to express the length of time you've been waiting, you'd say "i've been waiting here FOR 3 minutes." if you wanted to tell someone when you started to wait, you'd say "i've been waiting SINCE 2."

so basically "for" refers to length of time and "since" refers to when the activity began.
Tom   Wednesday, June 18, 2003, 21:33 GMT
What about:

"I've been spending 3 times more on gasoline since I've had this car."?

Doesn't "since" refer to a length of time here (the period in which the speaker has had the car)?

As usual, I think the best way to learn English grammar is not to look for rules and explanations, but to study example sentences instead.
efmvamn   Wednesday, June 18, 2003, 21:37 GMT
Why, it's important to help you with rules and explication at the begining. Then you'll get a more precise idea of the spirit of a word by studying examples.
Fisher   Wednesday, June 18, 2003, 23:04 GMT
What about "for" and "since", where they mean "because"? Is there a difference in such cases?
Jacob   Wednesday, June 18, 2003, 23:57 GMT