which languages are the most difficult ?

SagaSon   Saturday, July 26, 2003, 03:30 GMT
"Never heard anyone say that before, Ryan. I am a French major, and I would say that French pronunciation is harder than Spanish. "

oowo, Any language has a more complex pronunciation system than Spanish....

"I like languages that have discarded the bulkiness of the grammar. Like gender and declensions for example. Languages like English and Afrikaans have no gender and no declensions. "

I love it too, but I'd hate if my native tongue were like this

"How about rolling 'r'? Is it easy for you? "

English R is a lot harder for Spanish speakers than Spanish R is for English speakers.....
Clark   Saturday, July 26, 2003, 04:21 GMT
Gender I can deal with, and to a certain extent, I can deal with declensions, but they are not my favorite. The gender issue in French is not something I really like. When I started learning French, I did so because my choices were Spanish, Art or French; so I chose French. It was only later did I fall in love with languages and in turn, French. So, when I first started with French, I paid no attention in class, and in turn, I did not learn the gender of a lot of the words. So now, I am really hurting because French words do not have a clear disctinction of masculinity and femininity; unlike Spanish, where a majority of the words one can tell whether they are masc. or fem.

I have no trouble with rolling my "r." It is really easy actually. I have more trouble with the French "r" than anything.
Daniel   Saturday, July 26, 2003, 09:20 GMT
For me personally, French is very easy (even though this does not mean that I don not make mistakes!!).
As the French started to regulate their language as early as in the 17th century, French is very clear and logical. The writing seems to be quite strange at first sight but in fact it is far more phonetic than English.