does watch "FRIENDS" good for learning english?

mjd   Friday, October 17, 2003, 07:11 GMT
dian,

Jim is usually very sharp when it comes to grammar so I'd opt for what he says especially if you're taking a standardized test. What I said was probably more in the realm of colloquial speech.
A.S.C.M.   Friday, October 17, 2003, 07:37 GMT
I am not saying that anyone is wrong. Here's just what I would say:
"You've already said that you enjoy the show and that it's a good way to learn and to listen to colloquial speech."

According to sentence examples I've seen in a particular British grammar book, the present perfect (have said) can be used with the present tense (enjoy).

I don't know if my "that...that", "to...to" constructions are grammatical. I used to write "that" and "to" only once but then, I started learning French and got into a habit of repeating them. Now, writing "that" or "to" only once as in "that you enjoy the show and it's a good way to learn and listen to colloquial speech" even appears ungrammatical to my eyes, which may have been distorted.
dian   Friday, October 17, 2003, 08:10 GMT
But, in real life, what will you do?

I will strict with the rules from grammar books, but I will not too strict when I must speak with a native speaker. Or, I think I can use both. It is common for me when I start a sentence with past tense such as in "You said that..." then go on with past tense consistently. I hope that I have done rightly.
Jim   Friday, October 17, 2003, 08:39 GMT
In real life, don't stress it. Haven't time to go into details but I wonder if the book of A.S.C.M.'s was talking of reported speech. This is a reported speech question not just one about using present perfect and present tense together. See ya, more detail next time.
dian   Friday, October 17, 2003, 09:29 GMT
Don't forget to come back here, because I am waiting for your answer....:-)
SagaSon   Saturday, October 18, 2003, 21:22 GMT
correction
Is watching Friends good for learning English?