Language without Noun/Adjective Agreement

Clark   Monday, October 27, 2003, 06:38 GMT
I am just curious; what languages are there that do not have noun/adjective agreements?

I can think of the following:

Norwegian
Danish
English

And when I mean no agreement, I esentially mean that there is nothing like the German language or the Romance languages where one must decide which ending(s) to put after the noun and the adjective.
Californian   Monday, October 27, 2003, 06:54 GMT
Do Norwegian and Danish have masculine and feminine words? I am studying Swedish and it has those. Since I am studying French I can guess what the gender of a word is and usually be correct. Still a pain though. All words should be neutral, like in English!
Jim   Monday, October 27, 2003, 07:42 GMT
Japanese is another.
Clark   Monday, October 27, 2003, 07:48 GMT
Yes, Danish and Norwegian are essentially like Swedish. Danish and Norwegian are closer than say Danish and Swedish, or Norwegian and Swedish. However, Norwegian serves as a lingua franca because when Swedes cannot understand Danish, they try Norwegian, and when Danes cannot understand Swedish, they try Norwegian.

All Scandinavian languages (minus Icelandic and Faeroese) have two genders (although Norwegian can have three):

Norwegian = en or ei and et
Danish = en and et
Swedish = an(???) and ett
Clark   Monday, October 27, 2003, 07:56 GMT
One last post before I am off to bed.

Does anyone know of any Germanic languages/dialects that do not have much agreement between noun and adjective; for example, languages that have an equal amount or less amount of agreement that English and its dialects (Scots, Ullans, etc) have.
Oscar   Monday, October 27, 2003, 17:22 GMT
As Californian said in previous posts :
>All words should be neutral, like in English! <
Tremmert   Monday, October 27, 2003, 17:47 GMT
Afrikaans...
messire lavoisel   Monday, October 27, 2003, 18:35 GMT