what do u think about my English?

Rasheed   Monday, October 27, 2003, 09:57 GMT
Hello
I am Rasheed, my mother tonque is Arabic.
Arabic is totally different than English so that I encounter a big difficulty to learn English, specially in uderstanding native speakers and in prononsing English words as like native speakers even I am very interested to learn this international language which helps me too much in my work( I am a mechanical Engineer)because it is the only language I can use to communicate with suppliers over the world.
My questions are:
1. Depanding on the few lines I wrote above, what do you think about my english?
2.What is the best way to improve my saying and my understanding?
3.Which is correct to say( I want to learn English) or ( I want to learning English)? And what is the rule of this?
Thenks and best regards for all
Rasheed   Monday, October 27, 2003, 09:59 GMT
sorry for my mistake( i am very interested) i wanted to say ( i am very interesting)
Lou   Monday, October 27, 2003, 11:15 GMT
Rasheed, I think you communicate really well already. I am a native speaker. A tip: if you want to know what goes with certain words, a dictionary can help you. The Oxford Advanced Learner't Dictionary says, in the sense you used 'different', that you should use from or to. So, it would be 'Arabic is totally different from/to English. I would also say, 'I am encountering great difficulty in learning English. 'I am encountering' I would use because that is the situation at present, that's what's going on now.

Your statement 'I am very interested' is correct, but afterwards you should say, ' in learning English. If you say, ' I am very interesting', you mean that you yourself are a very interesting person, which I don't doubt, but that isn't what you wanted to say.

1. As a native speaker, I can understand very well what you wanted to say, but, of course, you want to improve and use the language correctly, especially as you use it for your job.