The Difficulty of Learning 2 Separate Languages Effectively

NewbieLearner   Monday, May 10, 2004, 22:58 GMT
I am new to language learning. I am a resident of the US and like a large portion of the US population I speak English exclusively, much to my dismay. However, I have taken it upon myself to venture out and begin the study of other tongues. I was wondering if anyone had experience learning two foreign languages AT THE SAME TIME. I am particularly interested in learning Japanese and French myself. Now, I know that I am a beginner and that these languages are from totally different language families, but if I am extremely determined how well do you estimate that I COULD fare learning both at the same time? Thanks for any and all responses!!
Dulcinea del Toboso   Tuesday, May 11, 2004, 01:29 GMT
Being "extremely determined" is what will help you most of all; I think you can be successful, especially because Japanese and French are so disimilar.

However, despite being determined, the biggest factor in how quickly and thoroughly you learn these languages is your age. Ideally, one should learn a language (or multiple languages) before the age of 8 or thereabouts, where the process is nearly effortless. Later than that, up through the teenage years, does require deliberate effort but it's still easier than when you are older. I learned Russian as a teenager and am still surprised how words that I thought I'd forgotten just pop back into my head when required.

Another factor is how you go about learning the languages. A classroom is preferable to self-study for most people and exposure to a native speaker (for pronunciation and correction) is very desirable.
Miquel   Tuesday, May 11, 2004, 19:50 GMT

More difficult: I'm learning ancient and modern greek at the same time.
NewbieLearner   Wednesday, May 12, 2004, 00:41 GMT