Do you need a teacher to learn a language?

Easterner   Thursday, September 16, 2004, 08:50 GMT
Lately I have been wondering if language is learnt more effectively with or without a teacher (meaning any person having a good command of the language, with or without an actual teaching degree). I have mixed experience on this subject, and I will share my experience of learning French and German.

I have learnt German entirely on my own since I was 14, by using some coursebooks at the beginning and reading many authentic materials later. At the moment I am fairly fluent in it, and I have never felt that it would have been better had I taken a course of it. For a long time I had some difficulty speaking in German though, simply because I wasn't used to it. On the other hand, I started learning French at high school, and having the teacher as a model helped me master speech patterns faster. Now with a fairly good command of both languages, I think I could learn any Germanic or Romance language easily on my own, without a teacher.

However, if I decided to learn a language pertaining to a different culture (such as Chinese or Hindi or Arabic), I feel I would need somebody to serve as a model for pronunciation, at least in the beginning, and to make me aware of the sociolinguistic aspects of different expressions (e.g. it is all right to use an expression in one situation, but would be more than inappropriate in another). In other words, to master the language of a different culture, I would need contact with a representative of that culture. I would appreciate any coments on this subject.
Steve K   Thursday, September 16, 2004, 14:08 GMT