How come Dutch people are so good at languages?

Sergey   Thursday, October 14, 2004, 20:54 GMT
By the way, I am myself studying Dutch now, and knowing English makes my life so much simpler. French, on the other hand, is a nightmare for me, as I have no experience with Roman languages.
Natalia   Friday, October 15, 2004, 04:34 GMT
Frankly, I did not know that European people have any problems in English, with English classes and construction of education system I’ve thought the problems like that take place in Russia only. We learn English so long time: at school, at the Uni, as a postgrad.student...As a result...I think you can guess about results. As for me, I understand nothing after so long studding English, “bla-bla-bla” only, did not speak English at all, but to say “I am Natalia”, I am a biologist”, “I am ...year old”. Three years ago I met one teacher from the Netherlands taking part in the TASIS seminar. That time I would like to study English by any ways and one of them was to make some messages to different people in the World. He gave me his v-card, I wrote him, he answered me, and the amazing journey to English World started. He is not teacher of English, he has worked to High School as me, but all the time I know him I admire his English knowledge.
He says that the reason of that is early starting of study English and all kind of good every day practice. There are not any special secrets, only every day work. It looks like mountain appearance. Every day bodies of microorganisms, Protozoa creatures come down, and one day gigantic mountain appears like Alps, Everest appear. Creatures are invisible but due to every day work the tremendous Rocks can form. Every day efforts, English exercises are invisible too, but you can see one day tremendous amazing results like Dutch people English skills. (We waste so much time for empty talking, watching and so on, instead of improving language, but minutes plus minutes, hours by hours...)