I speak perfect English but in a totally wrong accent!

sanjana   Monday, November 22, 2004, 12:32 GMT
I am a student from India studying in London since the last one year. English was my first langauge in India since my education was in English. However when I came to London, I realised that I had to learn to speak English with the British accent in order to feel socially included. Also with Britain there are so many accents that I am totally confused.

How does one learn to speak "A British Accent" and still retain one's own unique identity? How does one become part of a foriegn culture socially without losing one's own roots, or becoming part of ghettoized in-bred communities?
Steve K   Monday, November 22, 2004, 15:45 GMT
If you are fluent, understandable and a nice person to get along with, do not worry about your accent. However, even amongst Indians there are those who have a slight and pleasant Indian lilt and those who can speak quickly and fluently and are difficult to understand.
Paul   Monday, November 22, 2004, 15:51 GMT
There are two ways to solve your problem.
I have a friend Joe Alexander from Malaysia, who had the same
problem. He is of British Ancestry, so he found it discomforting to
be treated as a foreigner.

The first solution is easier, so I will describe it first.
Find a friend or work associate with a
a passable English Accent, with whom you can speak daily.
Ideally, he should be a clear speaker, that you can understand easily.
Speak slower, more distinctly and with a lower pitch to him.
Try to mimic his pronunciation and speech rhythms.
Repeat unusual or new words back at him.
Avoid Slang or Swear words.
Avoid feelings of embarassment.
Check with him if any the words have any special connotation in Local English.
After about a month, if you pay attention to how people speak, your own
accent will be reduced and it will resemble the local accent. If you are a natural mimic or a naturally talkitive person this process will go much
faster.