Lowdown:How much does it pay?

Malik   Tuesday, December 21, 2004, 22:04 GMT
Hi, I'm 16 years old and live in the USA. I've had a brooding question on my mind that I'd like to address to those of you who are language lovers(which means virtually everyone). Does anyone know the highest paying job someone could get in majoring in a language field,i.e: linguist,etc?
Mxsmanic   Wednesday, December 22, 2004, 16:56 GMT
I believe the most lucrative possibility is a greeter at Wal-Mart.
mjd   Wednesday, December 22, 2004, 19:26 GMT
That is hard to say. Someone with a background in language could really be used in any field. Linguists tend to be academics, so you'd most likely end up working in a university.
Tiffany   Wednesday, December 22, 2004, 19:46 GMT
I can't speak for the USA, since I majored in Computer Science and am currently a Graphic Designer, but I have many friends in Italy who majored in linguistics (pick of two languages) and all of them work pretty much as translators. Of course they are under various titles that translate in English to receptionist, secretary. One of my friends works translating fiction books. Another works as a teacher for English.

Depending on what language you choose, there may be alot of work here and abroad for you. Some examples here are ESL teacher, various language teachers, aslo titles such as receptionist and secretary for bilingual businesses. As for high-paying though... language does not usually equate to money by itself.

Now if you were a bilingual graphic designer - in my field, tons of companies here that are owned by or do business with Japanese would want you. We employ two bilingual workers here solely because they speak both Japanese and English well - and many of the rest of us only speak one or the other. They aren't well off, but I'd say they make decent money. If they did more than just translate, they'd be considered invaluable to the company.