Accent evolution in English

Jordi   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 16:13 GMT
I've been seeing quite a few original 1940s pictures (or movies) both from Great Britain and the US. I have the feeling the accents have changed quite a bit. With British films it's definitely Grand Style Old RP (most of the time) but although I'm no great expert in American accents (I myself speak with a slightly modified Australian accent, which I learnt as a child) I have the feeling the American pictures don't sound exactly as present day American accents sound.
What is your feeling (regarding the accent, of course) when you hear a Standard American, which is now over 60 years old? Does it sound old fashioned? I'm speaking of "General American" voices. Have you got the feeling they have evolved a lot in the past 60 years?
Perhaps Brennus and other older Americans in ANTIMOON could give us more information on this subject.
andre in usa   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 16:19 GMT
I've seen this topic discussed before. I don't think American English was ever really spoken the way it is in old films, except by people who were trying to sound sophisticated. I believe it was an affect on the American accent at the time and common people did not speak like they do. In old movies they sounds almost English. The English accent in America has always been perceived as sounding upper-class, but that's because we mostly hear RP. So really, it was just an minor affect and is now out of style.
andre in usa   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 16:21 GMT
I mean think about, do your grandparents sound anything like the way they do in those old films (if you're American, that is)? No.
Jordi   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 16:27 GMT
In other languages I know really well (French, Catalan and Castilian Spanish) I have the feeling the accent hasn't changed much. They do sound old fahsioned but more due to style and choice of words.