Losing accents in Spanish, Russian and Japanese

MACBETH   Sunday, May 22, 2005, 04:40 GMT
Hello

How hard is it for native speakers of English to gain native-like pronunciation in the following languages?

1. Spanish
2. Russian
3. Japanese

My friends say Japanese is the easiest of all major languages to pronounce correctly, while Russian is the hardest.

Please tell me your opinions. If you speak or have learnt one of these languages, do you or other foreign speakers generally sound native-like or very foreign, or what?

I read in another thread about foreigners who learn English having big problems losing their accents, is it just as difficult in these languages aswell?

Thank you.
Deborah   Sunday, May 22, 2005, 07:23 GMT
Macbeth, of the languages you listed, I've only just begun to study Spanish, but I studied Russian for several years. I haven't noticed a general ability of the students to pronounce one language better than the other. In both languages, some people seemed to have absolutely no ability to imitate the sound of the target language, some sounded about as close to native as you can get when you start as an adult, and there was about the same distribution between the extremes.
Vytenis   Sunday, May 22, 2005, 16:20 GMT
I think Spanish should be the easiest to immitate for the Americans, especially for those who grew up in areas heavily populated by Hispanics... I think Deborah has mentioned something about picking up a lot of Spanish while growin up...
Deborah   Sunday, May 22, 2005, 16:57 GMT
Vytenis, certainly if you are exposed to one language more than another, that would help you acquire a good accent, but exposure aside, I don't think Spanish is easier to pronounce than Russian.
Vytenis   Monday, May 23, 2005, 08:02 GMT