Language Tips

Guest   Sat May 31, 2008 9:29 pm GMT
Here's mine:

Don't pay big money for language programs that will only bring you to an intermediate level.
Skippy   Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:17 am GMT
Like Rosetta Stone?

I've never used it, so I wouldn't know... I just know it's expensive...
Xie   Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:45 am GMT
Here's mine:

Bilingual texts with audios, and preferably with notes and minimal grammatical study, rule.
J.C.   Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:17 am GMT
Here's mine:

After your second foreign language NEVER use a book written in your mother tongue and be ALWAYS sure to listen to the material you're studying so you can develop your listening skills at the same time.
As soon as you can feel comfortable in the language, get a monolingual dictionary (When I studied Japanese, German and English I started using such dictionaries after about 2 years of study. Now I got to the point of using Spanish, Chinese and French monolingual dictionaries).
Many people don't like to study grammar rules but I see them as indispensable so that one can speak not only fluently but also correctly.
Since I talked about monolingual dictionaries, here are my hints:
German: Langenscheidts Großwörterbuch (Deutsch als Fremdsprache) or Duden Deutsches Universal Wörterbuch A-Z
Japanese: 現代国語例解辞典
Chinese: 现代汉语词典
Spanish: Diccionario de la Real Academia Española

I also like dictionaries in languages other than my native Portuguese such as:
Prisma Duits-Nederlands Woordenboek
Grosses Deutsch-Japanisches Wörterbuch
Suomi-Saksa-Suomi sanakirja
etc...
Skippy   Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:30 pm GMT